

# State of Louisiana

# Office of the Governor Office of Human Trafficking Prevention

Monica Taylor Director

Mary Kate Andrepont Deputy Director

# Louisiana Human Trafficking Prevention Commission & Advisory Board

November 14, 2024; 10:00 a.m. Louisiana State Capitol, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor Press Room 900 N 3rd St, Baton Rouge, LA 70802

#### **Minutes**

I. Call the Meeting to Order

Monica Taylor

- a. Monica Taylor called the meeting to order.
- II. Roll Call
  - a. Mary Kate Andreport called roll for the Commission and Advisory Board.
  - b. The following members of the Commission were present:
    - i. Belinda Murphy, present
    - ii. Beth Mizell, present
    - iii. Bob Wertz, Here by Proxy (Danielle Renfro)
    - iv. Christy Tate, Here By Proxy (Lauren Brocksmith)
    - v. Emily Chenevert, absent
    - vi. Jessica Vallelungo, Here by Proxy (Stphen Guccione)
    - vii. Kristine Russell, present
    - viii. Natalie LaBorde, absent
    - ix. Nicoloette Gordon, present
    - x. Paula Miles, present
    - xi. Steven McCain, absent
    - xii. Susie Schowen, Here by Proxy (Kaffia Arvie)
    - xiii. Tommy Clark, present
  - c. The following members of the Advisory Board were present:
    - i. Alliece Cole, present
    - ii. Amanda Moody, present



- iii. Carmen Spooner, present
- iv. Casey Morace, present
- v. Catalene Theriot, present
- vi. Chantrelle Varnado-Johnson, absent
- vii. Clayton Kleinpeter, present
- viii. Darrell Renfro, present
- ix. Holly Tupper, present
- x. Jennifer Best, present
- xi. Michelle Johnson, present
- xii. Rafael Castro, Here by Proxy (Sean Cassidy)
- xiii. Rafael Salcedo, present
- xiv. Rheneisha Roberston, present
- xv. Rochelle Fahrig, present
- xvi. Sheri Combs, present
- xvii. Sherrard Crespo, present
- xviii. Stephanie Sterling, present
  - xix. Tiffany Simpson, present

## III. Opening Remarks

Monica Taylor

- a. Monica Taylor, Office of Human Trafficking Prevention
  - Director of the Office of Human Trafficking Prevention, provided an update on the office, introduced staff, and described upcoming initiatives for Human Trafficking Prevention Month and Super Bowl LIX in New Orleans.
  - ii. Mary Kate Andrepont, Deputy Director of the OHTP, presented Louisiana's new Victim Outreach Campaign. The campaign materials are available for download at humantrafficking.la.gov.
- b. Each Commission and Advisory Board member provided an introduction and overview of their agency.

#### IV. Open Meeting Laws Presentation

Jeffrey Wale

a. Jeffrey Wale, Deputy Executive Legal Counsel in the Governor's Office, provided a brief presentation of Louisiana's Open Meeting Laws and expressed to the Commission and Advisory board the responsibility they will hold to follow the presented laws. Wale presented on quorums, public comments, executive sessions, and more.

### V. **New Business:** 2025 Housekeeping

**HTPC** 

- a. 2025 Meeting Dates: Andreport provided a proposal for 2025 meeting dates.
  - i. Motion to adopt 2025 calendar by Chief Tommy Clark, seconded by Kristine Russell. Motion passed.
- b. Vote for Commission Chair
  - Jennifer Hannon nominated Chief Tommy Clark to remain the Chair of Commissions. Captain Belinda Murphy seconded the nomination for Chief Clark, Chief Clark accepted the nomination. All in favor, none opposed. The motion passed.
  - ii. Chief Clark is voted in as Commission Chair for 2025.
- c. Vote for Commission Co-Chair



- i. Chief Tommy Clark nominated Capt. Belinda Murphy to co-chair the Commission. Motion was seconded by Paula Miles. Captain Murphy accepted. All in favor, none opposed. Motion was passed.
- d. Vote for Secretary
  - i. Sheri Combs is nominated for the Secretary position by Rheneisha Robertson, seconded by Captain Murphy. Combs accepted the position as Secretary.
  - ii. All in favor, none opposed. Motion was passed.
- e. Vote for Advisory Board Chair
  - i. Casey Morace nominated Michelle Johnson for the Advisory Board Chair position. Motion seconded by Holly Tupper. Johnson accepted the nomination
  - ii. All in favor, none opposed. Motion was passed.
- f. Vote for Advisory Co-Chair
  - i. Casey Morace was nominated as advisory co-chair by Johnson. Morace accepted the position.
  - ii. All in favor, none opposed. Motion was passed.

#### VI. Subcommittees

- a. Mary Kate Andreport reviewed previous Commission's subcommittees and structure process. The formation of the subcommittee required a vote of the Commission.
- b. Capt. Murphy motioned to adopt four subcommittees: minor sex trafficking, adult sex trafficking, labor sex trafficking, and immigration sex trafficking. Chief Clark seconded the motion.
- c. All in favor, non opposed. Motion passed.
- d. Andreport noted that subcommittee nominations will open up in December and request members to join subcommittees and nominate others to join.

#### VII. Public Comment Monica Taylor

#### VIII. Other Business

a. The next meeting is January 30th, 2025 at 10:00am.

#### IX. Adjournment

Monica Taylor

a. Motioned by Chief Clark to adjourn the meeting. Meeting was adjourned at 11:36 a.m.